Four scholarships awarded to high school seniors

Scholarship Awards 2014

Renee Lackey, Nalu Laurel, Jalyza Pascual, Aysha Nishibayashi-Rincon, Debbie von Tempsky, Laurence Muleh (on behalf of Ezekiel Cawigan)

Four Maui County high school seniors, from three different schools, received scholarship awards Saturday from Art Maui. The four are:
Nalu Laurel. Student of Jennifer Valenzuela at Lahainaluna High School.
Aysha Nishibayashi-Rincon. Student of Jan Sato at H.P. Baldwin High School.
Jalyza Pascual. Student of Jan Sato at H.P. Baldwin High School.
Ezekiel Cawigan. Student of Laurence Muleh at Maui High School.

The awards were presented on Saturday, April 5th, by Art Maui board of directors president Renee Lackey and scholarship committee chair Debbie von Tempsky. The students’ artwork is on display in a book at the desk at the Schaefer International Gallery at the MACC while Art Maui is on. Stephan Jost, juror for Art Maui 2014, selected these students based on their portfolios and applications when he was here to select pieces for Art Maui 2014. Eight students submitted portfolio entries. High school seniors attending Maui County public or private high schools, or home-schooled, were eligible to apply.

The scholarship award can be used at the student’s college of choice to pursue studies in art. Art Maui’s mission is to promote, encourage, and recognize excellence in the visual tactile arts in Maui County. The scholarship program supports that mission by investing in the next generation of artists.

This entry was posted in Art Maui 2014, Latest news, Scholarship program. Bookmark the permalink.