Three scholarships awarded to high school seniors

Jefferson Stillwell, Kela Strickland, Pi'ikea Karlen, Kara Frampton, Janet Allan

Jefferson Stillwell, Kela Strickland, Pi’ikea Karlen, Kara Frampton, Janet Allan

Three high school seniors from Maui County were each awarded a $2500 scholarship to use at the college of their choice to pursue studies in art. The three students are Kara Frampton from Kamehameha Maui, Pi’ikea Karlen, also from Kamehameha Maui, and Kela Strickland from Baldwin High School.

The awards were presented on Saturday, April 14th, by Art Maui board of directors president Jefferson Stillwell and scholarship committee chair Janet Allan. The students’ artwork was on display in the Alexa Higashi meeting room at the MACC. Tom Klobe, juror for Art Maui 2012, selected these students based on their portfolios and applications when he was here to select pieces for Art Maui 2012.

This entry was posted in Art Maui 2012, Latest news, Scholarship program. Bookmark the permalink.